Ruling parties expected to retain power in Assam, Kerala & West Bengal


In the assembly elections held in four states and one Union territory, the ruling parties are expected to retain power in Assam, West Bengal and Kerala. Opposition parties are likely to form goverernment in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.

As per the latest trends available according to Election Commission, In Assam, out of 126 seats, trends are available for 123 seats. BJP has won 3 seats and leading on 54 seats, Indian National Congress leads on 28 seats, Asom Gana Parishad 11, AIUDF 14 and United People’s Party Liberal is leading 8 seats Independent and others on 5 seats.

In West Bengal, out of 292 seats that went to polls, trends are available for all the seats. All India Trinamool Congress has won 7 seats and is leading on 206 seats, BJP has won 1 seat and leads on 76 seats and Independent and others on 2 seats.

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee expressed her gratitude to the people of Bengal. As soon as her victory was ensured, she made a brief appearance before the supporters at her Kalighat residence and said, ‘ Only Bengal can do this! It’s the victory of Bengal!’

In Tamilnadu, according to the present status available, DMK is leading in 157 constituencies with the party alone leading in 135 constituencies Congress is trending successful in 17 seats, MDMK and VCK in four each and left parties IUML, CPI and CPM have also scored two each Kongu Desiya Makkal Katchi is leading in one constituency.

The ruling AIADMK front is leading in 67 seats with PMK in five and BJP in three constituencies. DMK leader M.K.Stalin, Chief Minister Edappadi Palanisamy, Dy Chief Minister O.Panneerselvam are among 15 ministers who are leading and eight others are still trailing behind.

DMK is leading in all the 16 constituencies of the Chennai district. DMK President M.K.Stalin has expressed thanks to the voters who enabled DMK to assume power for the sixth time in Tamilnadu. In a statement released at Chennai today, Stalin assured that he will stand by the people at all times. He also expressed his wishes to those who had worked alongwith him in this incredible journey to victory.

Senior officials of the State Government are visiting DMK leader M.K.Stalin and congratulating him on his victory.

Prominent Ministers in the AIADMK State Government AIADMK senior leader Jayakumar, Rajendra Balaji, M.R.Vijaybhaskar lost the election. The other losers are TTV Dhinakaran, Premalatha Vijaykant, Actor Khushboo, Actor Seeman – the founder of Nam Thamizhar Katchi which contested in 234 constituencies.

In Kerala the ruling CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front in Kerala is all set to retain power as counting is still in progress. If they win, it will be a new turn in Kerala’s political history over four-decade-old trend of swinging between the Communists and the Congress-headed UDF. LDF leads in close to 100 constituencies, followed by the congress-led UDF in 40 plus seats. NDA has lost the battle with no seats to their credit. Chief MinisterPinarayi Vijayan thanked the people for the landslide victory. But he urged all to restrain from celebrations as covid situation continues to be grim in the State.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal JD(S) leader and former Karnataka chief minister HD Kumaraswamy and Defence Minister Rajnath Singh congratulated Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan for LDFs massive victory in assembly elections.

In Puducherry, out of 30 seats, trends or results are available for 24 seats. All India NR Congress (AINRC) has won 07 seats and leading on 02. BJP has won 03 seats and leading on 1 seats. DMK has won 02 seats and leading on 02 seats. Indian National Congress is leading on 02 seats and Independents have won 2 seats and leading in 03 seats.

Counting of votes for assembly elections in Assam, West Bengal, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry began this morning at 8 AM. The counting began with postal ballots before the first round of counting began for the EVMs.

Assembly elections in four states and union territory were held from March 27 to April 29.

In view of second wave of pandemic and to ensure a complete COVID safe arrangements during counting, the Election Commission has rolled out strict COVID protocols for the counting day.

As per the safety measures, no candidates or poll agents is being allowed inside the counting hall without undergoing RT-PCR or Rapid Antigen Test. However, those who have been administered both the doses of COVID vaccination have been allowed. The Commission has also prohibited public gathering outside the counting venues during the process of counting.

The Election Commission has already banned all victory processions on or after the day of counting. Not more than two people will be allowed to accompany the winning candidates to receive the certificate of election from the concerned Returning Officer.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here